Common Name

625 E 6th St #1
New York NY 10009

646 – 912 – 8502

Email the studio



COMMON NAME is a New York-based, W/MBE-certified graphic design studio focusing on identity, interactive, print and exhibition work for clients in art, architecture and education.

YOONJAI CHOI is a graphic designer and partner at Common Name. She currently teaches typography at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation (GSAPP) and The Cooper Union, and has taught or spoken at Harvard Graduate School of Design, Yale School of Art, Parsons, Pratt, Rutgers, Syracuse Architecture and City College. Prior to Common Name, Yoonjai held an art director position at New York design studio 2 x 4. She received her BFA in visual communications from Hongik University in Seoul and an MFA in graphic design from Yale University.


KEN MEIER is a graphic designer and partner at Common Name. He currently teaches typography at Parsons School of Design, and has taught or spoken at Columbia GSAPP, Yale School of Art, Rutgers, Syracuse Architecture, Fordham and City College. Prior to Common Name, Ken worked with international design consultancy IDEO and New York’s Project Projects. His work has been published by Unit Editions, Graphic, Creative Review, Computer Arts, Print Magazine, IdN and the Type Directors Club. He received his BA in humanities from the University of Chicago and an MFA in graphic design from Yale University.



303 Gallery
American Institute of Architects
Art & Education
Art for Justice Fund
Canadian Centre for Architecture
Carnegie Museum of Art
Center for Spatial Research
Civilian Projects
Columbia University GSAPP
Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum
Cornell AAP
Critical Broadcasting Lab
Even Magazine
Frieze Projects
Hauser & Wirth
Haverford College PACC
Horses Think Press
Höweler & Yoon Architecture
Kate Werble Gallery
Magazzino Italian Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The New School
Parsons School of Design
Philadelphia Museum of Art
The Print Center
Queens Museum of Art
Shenzhen Institute for Building Research
Spitzer School of Architecture
Stellar Works
Storefront for Art & Architecture
Studio Museum in Harlem
SVA Design for Social Innovation
Syracuse Architecture
University of Virginia
Various Projects
The Vera List Center
Virginia Commonwealth University
Whitney Museum of American Art
Yale School of Art
Yale University Art Gallery



Yoonjai Choi
Ken Meier





Mike Bingaman
Martin Borst
Dan Brewster
Yago Busquets
Shutian Chan
Min Choi
Bryan Chu
Keegan Cooke
Andy Dayton
Karla Despradel
Minsun Eo
Dylan Fisher
John Friel
Andre Fuchs
James Graham
Alek Hamid
Adrian Harwood
Tiff Hockin
John Houck
Jack Jennings
Zak Klauck
Caspar Lam
Min Hee Lee
Orlando Lloyd
Duncan Malashock
Joanna McClure
Dan McHugh
Lukas Nässil
Eric Nylund
Julia Panek
Nick Reilly
Chris Rypkema
Win Shanokprasith
Luke Stettner
Valentin Taubin
Miranda Trimmier
Bryce Wilner
Ofer Wolberger